[First woman to have completed with success the 5 events of the Roadsign Continental Challenge]

 Ita Marzotto

  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2018 – 2nd (Competition by team)
  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2017 – Winner with a total of 18 points
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2017 – 6th & 1st woman
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2017 – 2nd & 1st woman
  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2016 – 1st woman & 3rd of the Ranking List
  • Ultra BOLIVIA Race 2016 – 8th & 2nd woman
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2016 – 6th
  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2015 – 1st woman 
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2015 – 5th & 2nd woman
  • THE TRACK 2015 – 9th & 1st woman 

 

BIO >> Ita Marzotto looks like her home region, the Tuscany. She shows a subtle mix of sweetness and energy, of greed and wisdom. Calm and smiling, Ita stands out in ultra-races since a few years. But her presence at the highest level today stems from the challenge launched by a friend …

First woman to complete all our races and winner of Roadsign Continental Challenge 2017, Ita did not have the race in her blood until the dawn of fifty. Grown-up children, professional break, some cigarettes and a light overweight … one moment when we very often try to change things in our life. And a facetious friend who challenges her to come to run the New-York marathon! Taking him literally, she said yes and began to train in April for the marathon taking place in November. After some codified races, the adventure could have stopped there but Ita discovers the trail; A kind of revelation. She has always liked the journey and this type of race captivates her.

“To take advantage of the journey and finish ultra-trails, you have to be requiring with yourself and of course, it is easier when you have time.”

Humbly, she asserts that the energy of the performance comes from the trail itself. In 2017, Ita Marzotto ended 16 ultra-marathons and ultra-trails, quite 1800 km on 4 continents. When we talk about an exceptional sports performance, she says no and sweeps the compliment with a wide smile. If ultra-trail fits her so well, it is because that sounds like her.

“Running an ultra-trail, it is at first accepting the nature such as it is, taking pleasure in the diversity of grounds, landscapes. In the races of the Roadsign Continental challenge, we feel osmosis with the environment, the animals. It is a human journey in autonomy where the runners are given responsibilities. The way these races are thought and organized help enormously to face the challenge.”

[Recordman of participation]

  Pedro Vera Jimenez

  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2018 – 6th
  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2018 – 4th
  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2017 – 1st Man & 2nd of the Ranking List
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2017 – 7th
  • THE TRACK 2017 – 12th
  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2016 – Winner with a total of 22 points
  • Ultra BOLIVIA Race 2016 – 9th
  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2016 – 7th (no Finisher)
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2016 – 7th
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2016 – 7th
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2015 – 3rd
  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2015 – 6th
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2015 – 4th

BIO >> Pedro Vera Jimenez has the record of participation in the Roadsign Continental Challenge series. He is also the second competitor to have been Finisher of each of the Challenge races. Pedro won the Roadsign Continental Challenge 2017 by finishing first in the Ranking List, receiving the winner’s shield on the Salar de Uyuni in Bolivia.

[First competitor to have completed with success the 5 events of the Roadsign Continental Challenge]

 Jun Ricardo Ferrero

  • Ultra ASIA Race 2016 – 10th
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2015 – 10th
  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2015 – 5th
  • THE TRACK 2015 – 12th
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2015 – 3rd
  • Ultra BOLIVIA Race 2014 – 9th

BIO >> Coming soon…

[First Winner of the Roadsign Continental Challenge]

 Tommy Chen

  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2015 – Winner with a total of 20 points
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2015 – Winner
  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2015 – 2nd
  • Ultra BOLIVIA Race 2014 – Winner
  • THE TRACK 2013 – 2nd

BIO >>  Tommy Chen, is a young ultramarathon athlete whom performances and attitude induce respect.

As a child, a rural life and participation in the fields work gave him the taste of nature and sport. In high school, he joins the track and field team and worked hard to get the 10,000 meters national championship. Promoted to the sports university, he discovered ultramarathon by participating in a long-term polar adventure. “At this time, I fell in love with the super marathon in nature” he specifies.

At thirty-two year old, Tommy reached the goal that he had settled: finish 8 ultramarathons on 7 continents in 5 years; a challenge which led him under latitudes very far from his native country. His performances allowed us to discover his talent and obstinacy when he won the first edition of the Ultra BOLIVIA Race in 2014 then the Ultra AFRICA Race 2015 in Burkina Faso.

In 2015, he became the first Winner of the Roadsign Continental Challenge.

Beyond his sports performances, the Taiwanese made of Tommy Chen one of their favorite standard bearer.

Tommy also owes his athletic feats to an exceptional mental strength and a deep vision of life.

“Even if my body underwent many wounds, I saw the most beautiful sceneries of the world. As long as your life is not in danger, your body will recover. The pain is inevitable but the suffering is optional “.

[Première femme à finir avec succès les 5 courses du Roadsign Continental Challenge]

 Ita Marzotto

  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2018 – 2ème (Compétition par équipe)
  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2017 – Vainqueur avec un total de 18 points
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2017 – 6ème & 1ère féminine
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2017 – 2ème & 1ère féminine
  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2016 – 1ere féminine & 3ème de la Ranking List
  • Ultra BOLIVIA Race 2016 – 8ème & 2ème féminine
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2016 – 6ème
  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2015 – 1ere féminine
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2015 – 5ème & 2ème féminine
  • THE TRACK 2015 – 9ème & 1ère féminine

BIO >> Ita Marzotto ressemble à sa région, la Toscane. Un subtil mélange de douceur et d’énergie, de gourmandise et de sagesse. Force tranquille et souriante, Ita s’impose dans l’ultra trail depuis quelques années. Contre toute attente, sa présence au plus haut niveau aujourd’hui tient au défi lancé par un ami…

Première femme à compléter toutes nos courses et gagnante du Roadsign Continental Challenge 2017, Ita n’avait pas la course dans le sang jusqu’à l’aube de la cinquantaine. Des enfants déjà grands, une rupture professionnelle, quelques cigarettes et un léger surpoids… un moment où l’on cherche bien souvent à changer des choses dans sa vie. Et un ami facétieux qui la défie de venir courir le marathon de New-York ! Le prenant au mot, elle dit oui et commence à s’entraîner en avril pour le marathon qui a lieu en novembre. Après quelques courses très codifiées, l’aventure aurait pu s’arrêter là mais Ita découvre le trail. Une sorte de révélation. Elle a toujours aimé le voyage et ce type de course la fascine.

« Pour profiter du voyage et finir les ultra trails, il faut être exigeant avec soi-même et bien sûr, c’est plus facile quand on a du temps ».

En toute humilité, elle affirme que l’énergie de la performance vient du trail lui-même. En 2017, Ita Marzotto a terminé 16 ultra marathons et ultra trails soit 1800 kms sur 4 continents. Lorsqu’on lui parle d’une exceptionnelle performance sportive, elle balaie le compliment d’un « mais non ! » accompagné d’un large sourire. Si l’ultra trail lui va comme un gant, c’est d’abord parce qu’elle s’y retrouve.

« Courir un ultra trail, c’est d’abord accepter la nature telle qu’elle est, prendre plaisir à la diversité des terrains, des paysages. Dans les courses du Roadsign Continental Challenge, on est en osmose avec l’environnement, les animaux. C’est un voyage humain, en autonomie où les coureurs sont responsabilisés. La façon dont ces courses sont pensées et organisées aide énormément à relever le défi ».

[Record de participation]

  Pedro Vera Jimenez

  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2018 – 6ème
  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2018 – 4ème (Compétition par équipe)
  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2017 – 1er Homme & 2ème de la Ranking List
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2017 – 7ème
  • THE TRACK 2017 – 12ème
  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2016 – Vainqueur avec un total de 22 points
  • Ultra BOLIVIA Race 2016 – 9ème
  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2016 – 7ème (non Finisher)
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2016 – 7ème
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2015 – 3ème
  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2015 – 6ème
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2015 – 4ème
  • Ultra BOLIVIA Race 2014 – 8ème

BIO >> Pedro Vera Jimenez a le record de participation sur les courses du Roadsign Continental Challenge. Il est également le second coureur à avoir été Finisher de chacune des courses du Challenge. Pedro a gagné le Roadsign Continental Challenge 2017 en terminant premier de la Ranking List, il a reçu le bouclier du vainqueur sur le Salar de Uyuni en Bolivie. 

[Premier coureur à avoir terminé avec succès les 5 courses du Roadsign Continental Challenge]

 Jun Ricardo Ferrero

  • Ultra ASIA Race 2016 – 10ème
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2015 – 10ème
  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2015 – 5ème
  • THE TRACK 2015 – 12ème
  • Ultra ASIA Race 2015 – 3ème
  • Ultra BOLIVIA Race 2014 – 9ème

BIO >> Coming soon…

[Premier vainqueur du Roadsign Continental Challenge]

 Tommy Chen

  • ROADSIGN CONTINENTAL CHALLENGE 2015 – Vainqueur avec un total de 20 points
  • Ultra AFRICA Race 2015 – Vainqueur
  • Ultra NORWAY Race 2015 – 2ème
  • Ultra BOLIVIA Race 2014 – Vainqueur
  • THE TRACK 2013 – 2ème

BIO >> Tommy Chen, est un jeune marathonien dont les performances et l’attitude forcent le respect.

Enfant, la vie rurale et la participation aux travaux des champs lui ont donné le goût de la nature et du sport. Au lycée, il rejoint l’équipe d’athlétisme et travaille dur pour décrocher un titre national sur 10 kilomètres. C’est à l’université qu’il découvre l’ultra marathon en participant à une aventure polaire de longue haleine. « C’est là que je suis tombé amoureux du super marathon dans la nature » précise-t-il.

Aujourd’hui trentenaire, Tommy a atteint l’objectif qu’il s’était fixé : finir 8 ultra marathons sur 7 continents en 5 ans. Un défi qui l’a mené sous des latitudes bien éloignées de son pays natal. Une aventure qui nous a permis de découvrir son talent et son opiniâtreté puisqu’il a remporté la première édition de l’Ultra BOLIVIA Race en 2014 et l’Ultra AFRICA Race 2015 au Burkina Faso.

Tommy est par ailleurs lié à l’histoire de Canal Aventure puisqu’il est devenu en 2015 le premier Vainqueur du Roadsign Continental Challenge.

Au-delà de ses performances sportives, les Taïwanais ont fait de Tommy Chen l’un de leur porte-drapeau préféré. Ses prouesses sportives, Tommy les doit aussi à un mental et une vision de la vie plutôt exceptionnels.

« Même si mon corps a subi bien des blessures, j’ai vu les plus beaux paysages du monde. Tant que votre vie n’est pas en danger, votre corps se remettra. La douleur est inévitable mais la souffrance est facultative ».